I Meditate Africa

I Meditate Africa is a free campaign promoting peace in Africa, encouraging the use of meditation as a mainstream peace building block for the continent.

In 2014 South Africa celebrates 20 years of freedom and democracy. This momentous occasion presents an opportunity to reflect on how our freedom and democracy were achieved; the progress we have made over the past 20 years; and how as South Africans we can work together to implement “Vision 2030”.

We invite you to participate in the  I Meditate Africa 2014 campaign, in your capacity as a peace ambassador to advocate the spirit of Peace, Unity and Freedom to mark our 20 years of democracy.

 Africa Meditation Month

May 2014 is the month to meditate for peace for the continent

Inspire a meditation session of 20 minutes at your or any place of learning, i.e. school, college, university, CSI related school, anytime from 01st - 21st May 2014.

Record your participation no later than the 21st May 2014 on the Event Reporting page of http://www.imeditate.org and be counted as part of this global campaign contributing to peace on the African continent.

Contact: South Africa - Africa Month Coordinators 

 Gauteng: Kirtida Bhana | kirtidab@telkomsa.net | 082 322 0117

Cape Town: Elizabeth Roux | elizabeth.roux@axxess.co.za | 082 442 3959 

KwaZulu Natal: Radha Naidu | naidu.rp@gmail.com | 083 788 2160


Sunday, 25 May 2014, 11:00 am CAT (Central African Time)

Join 1000's across the African continent in a live webcast peace meditation guided by noted humanitarian and peace ambassador Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

 Event details in South Africa - click here

Contact details for participating African countries - click here


On Africa’s’ 50th anniversary of unification in 2013, an estimated 10 000 people from 23 African countries, 30 African cities and 54 international countries were led into the largest peace meditation for Africa, with noted humanitarian Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

Participating countries were: Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Cameroon, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Malawi, Uganda, Tanzania, Tunisia, Nigeria, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Namibia, Mauritius, Morocco, DRC, Zambia, Ethiopia, Togo, Sudan & South Africa.