Search results

  1. Gurudev, we worship the whole body of Lord Rama and Lord Krishna, but we worship only the Linga of Lord Shiva, why is it like this?

    The Linga is a symbolic representation or swaroopa of Lord Shiva.
    First you understand what Linga is. Linga is a symbol.
    Why are genitals also called Linga? That is because it is the symbol through which ...
  2. Please tell us something about Hanuman?

    It is said that the Ramayana is happening in your own body. Your soul is Rama, your mind is Sita, your breath or life-force is Hanuman, your awareness is Laxmana and your ego is Ravana.
    When the mind wa ...
  3. Gurudev, can you please talk about Ashta Ganapati?

    The number eight is associated with the eight Prakritis - Ashtada Prakriti.
    What are the Ashtada Prakriti? Earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind, intellect and ego. These all come in our nature.
    Some saint or wise man s ...
  4. What is the significance of ‘Panchamrita (mixture of five foods used in Hindu  worship) Abhisheka’? Why were only these materials chosen?

    These five are like nectar: Milk, Curd, Honey, Jaggery and Ghee. Though jaggery needs to be used, sugar is being used instead of jaggery nowadays.

    Five Devatas (Deities) reside in them. Savitru resides in Sugar, Vishwedeva in Hone ...

  5. Gurudev, there is some confusion regarding Lord Vishnu’s Avatar (incarnation) in the form of Parshurama. How was it possible for Lord Rama to be born at the same time when Parshurama was present as well, as both are considered to be incarnations of Lord Narayana?

    We first need to understand what an Avatar is.
    It is not that an Avatar can only be present at one place and not at another place at the same time. An Avatar simply represents a part of the Divinity. And where would you not find the Div ...
  6. Gurudev, yesterday you said that Lord Krishna is Kartikeya among the Devas. Please tell us a little about Kartikeya.

    When the five elements governed by Lord Shiva (Panch Mahabhoota - Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Ether) united with Shakti (Pure Consciousness), Lord Kartikeya was born.
    Shiva is called PanchaananaLord with five he ...
  7. There are many organizations that teach Yoga and Meditation in India, including The Art of Living. If we are all working for the same cause, which is to bring peace to mankind, then why are all these organizations so different?

    Listen, people of the same intention will always be together. Though they do it in different ways, there is no conflict since the cause is the same.

    You know, the spirit loves diversity.
    When I went to Pakistan, people asked me why do we have so m ...

  8. Gurudev, could you talk about Tantra and Khajuraho temples? I have been visiting these temples with different groups and each guide says different things, and I do not find truth in it.

    Tantra means technique. Yantra, Mantra and Tantra - these are three things.
    Mantra is the sound. Yantra is the diagram. Like the Star of David, it is one such Yantra which Judaisim uses as its ma ...
  9. Dear Guruji, what is the real meaning and importance of Rudra Pooja? And what happens to the people or the place?

    Rudrabhishek is an ancient chanting which was downloaded from the Aakasha (space). When the ancient sages and Rishis sat in meditation, they heard, and what they heard, they started transferring to other people. The effect of Rudrabhi ...
  10. Gurudev, in the Bhagavad Gita it is said that Lord Krishna is the Supreme Soul and He alone is everything. And in Shiva Tattva, Shiva is said to be everything. So which of these is the truth?

    Both, because there is no difference between the two. That which is Shiva is Krishna, and the same thing is God and everything else. They are no two, there is only one.
    There was a Rishi (sage) who believed that Lord Krishna (Hari) and L ...
Displaying 21 - 30 of 42
Founded in 1981 by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar,The Art of Living is an educational and humanitarian movement engaged in stress-management and service initiatives. Read More