The Sacral Chakra: Your Personal Guide to Balance the Second Chakra

Are you missing that juice of life? You need to give your sacral chakra some love! Read to learn everything you need to know to get your second chakra.

Denise Everheart
balanced sacral chakra

Are you feeling uninspired or bored? It could be your second chakra, the sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana Chakra. But before awakening or balancing our sacral chakra, let’s define what a chakra is and isn’t. 

Aside from our physical body, we also have a subtle body known as the energetic body. Life force energy, prana, flows through powerful energy centers called chakras.

Meditation master Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar says there are 109 chakras. The most important are the seven main chakras. The main seven chakras flow from the root chakra (base of the spine) to the crown chakra (top of the head).

Each chakra has unique qualities and emotions associated with it. These can appear differently depending on when the chakra is balanced or imbalanced. Prana flows up or down from one chakra to another, resulting in positive or negative expressions. 

In other words, chakras never block or unblock. Instead, chakras can either get stuck in the downward flow or become unbalanced.

Now for what a chakra isn’t. 

Chakras are not colorful flowers as artists often depict. But chakras do have associated colors that represent the energy of each chakra. 

For a deeper understanding of chakras, read on!

Topics covered:

What is the Sacral Chakra?

Location and meaning

The sacral chakra is located behind the genitals, in the reproductive glands area.

The second chakra is called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. Svadhisthana means where you are established.  Sva = self + adhisthana = established. Another root word, svad, also translates as “to taste with pleasure” or “enjoy."

The characteristics of the sacral chakra

Associated Color: Orange
Element: Water
Qualities: Creativity or procreation (sexual energy)

Signs and symptoms of unbalanced sacral chakra energy

energy center

Physical symptoms

  1. Physical craving for sexual intercourse

  2. Low libido

  3. Low energy

  4. Prostrate issues

  5. Premenstrual symptoms

Mental signs

  1. Obsessed with sex

  2. Lack of creativity

  3. Uninspired

  4. Detachment

  5. Loneliness

How to heal and balance the sacral chakra

chakra meditation techniques


Meditation plays a big role in restoring balance in the chakra system. The easiest way to balance your chakras is through meditation techniques like Sahaj Samadhi Meditation and SKY Breath Meditation. Guided meditations specifically for chakras can also be beneficial. 

Here are two articles with guided chakra meditations to benefit your whole chakra system:

Try This Chakra Meditation to Balance Your Body’s Energy System Today

Feel the Prana! Activate Your Chakras Using this Hari Om Meditation


Affirmations may or may not positively affect your sacral chakra. Affirmations can have some small positive effects on our minds. However, since affirmations are words or thoughts without strong, energetic vibrations, repeating positive affirmations may not produce the desired outcomes.

Though, if you love affirmations, there is no harm in using them.

Yoga poses that stimulate sacral chakra energy 

butterfly pose
These yoga postures can help bring balance to your sacral chakra:

Need a yoga teacher to help you get started with your yoga practice? Try the Art of Living Yoga Studio online.

Healing visualization

Just like affirmations, healing visualizations may be less effective in balancing and healing your sacral chakra. If visualizations are your jam, you can either add more effective tools or skip this one altogether. 

Specific foods

Eat greater quantities of high-prana food. Fresh fruits and veggies have some of the highest prana levels. Choose plant-based meals and add sprouted grains and legumes. Avoid leftovers.


For centuries, people have used hand positions called mudras to improve their mind and body. They affect our nervous systems by stimulating nerve endings in the hands. You can think of mudras as a way of accessing the subtle energy grid in your body.

There are four mudras that, when practiced one after another, help energy flow upward and benefit all of the chakra centers. To enhance this process, you can practice ujjayi breath, also known as victory breath, for three minutes in each position.

Gyan Mudra

Gently touch your thumbs and index fingers together, and keep the other three fingers outstretched and relaxed. Rest your hands on your thighs as you gently breathe in and out.

Chin Maya Mudra

Hold the thumb and index finger together lightly in a ring. Curl your three remaining fingers into the palms of your hands, and hold them there loosely. Place the hands on the thighs with palms facing upwards. Keep light attention between the eyebrows and continue breathing with victory breath.

Adi Mudra

Make a light fist by placing your thumb at the bottom of your small finger and curl the rest of your fingers over it. Place your palms facing upwards on the thighs. Keep light attention on the two sides of the head/brain, and breathe gently in Ujjayi.

Merudanda Mudra

Place your hands in the thumbs-up position, resting on your thighs. Keep gentle attention on the spine and continue to breathe in ujjayi.

Stones and crystals

Stones are not dead; they have vibrant energy. Here are some semi-precious gemstones with energy that resonates in the sacral chakra.

  • Carnelian
  • Orange Tourmaline
  • Tangerine Quartz
  • Orange Moonstone
  • Peach Adventurine

Essential oils

Essential oils are a subtle way to affect your energy centers.

  • Vanilla
  • Cardamon
  • Rose
  • Ylang Ylang
  • Jasmine


SKY Breath Meditation

If you want to boost your spiritual energies for all your chakras, learn SKY Breath Meditation. SKY is easy to practice and gently awakens the Kundalini energy center at the base of the spine. The SKY practice, featured in the Art of Living Part 1 course, offers more benefits than other meditation techniques. Using the power of your breath, SKY gives you:

  • Greater mental focus
  • More life satisfaction
  • Improved emotional well-being
  • Increased joy
  • Improved relationships
  • Higher spiritual plane
  • And so much more!

You can see for yourself how powerful your breath is for meditation by registering for Art of Living Part 1.

Next steps

Begin your sacral chakra healing journey with Secrets of the 7 Chakras. Join this free, on-demand 7-day meditation journey to awaken, rebalance, and harmonize your energy. Guided by Gurudev, it is an opportunity to dive deeper into the profound wisdom of the chakras and cleanse each one through meditation. Emerge deeply rested, relaxed, and with personal insight. Register for free here.

secrets of seven chakras

Now that we've looked at how you can cultivate a balanced sacral chakra, next we will look at the solar plexus chakra.

Related posts

The Root Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Heart Chakra

The Throat Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra

The Crown Chakra

ART OF LIVING PART I COURSE Discover Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar’s ancient secret to modern well-being

Subscribe to Art of Living Blog Digest